This is a really simple and easy to make soup.

I am living on a very tight budget at the moment, so I have a cook-up on the weekends for the week ahead. Making soup for my work lunches not only is a great way to save the pennies, it works really well at beating the cravings, filling your tummy and warming you up in under-heated offices during the winter!

I bought a couple of fresh soups from the supermarket so that I could have their handy plastic reusable pots for my home made soups in the future. That way you still get a handy carton for your soup transportation, and you have all of the control regarding how much sugar ends up in your meal. Isn’t that what we all crave? A little control over this bastard of a disease?!

Please see the deets below for how to make this soup. I am no chef, and I like to just whack bits together, so feel free to adapt the method as much as you wish.

img_20170102_105120_3771244

Ingredients:

Butternut Squash x1 (~150g)

Large Carrots x2

Celery Sticks x2

Red Onions x2

Garlic Cloves x4

A dash of chilli powder

A small handful of rosemary – i used dried as i didn’t have fresh, but fresh would be better.

Sage – I also didn’t have any of this so left it, but it would be a nice addition.

Chicken and Vegetable Stock

Enough water to make the soup as thick or runny as you prefer

Seasoning as you wish

 

Method:

Start by adding a good glug of olive/rapeseed/coconut oil to a large saucepan on a medium heat. If you have the sage, whack that in there for a bit until it is dark (a Jamie Oliver trick), then remove it and set it aside for your garnish. Add the chopped carrots, onions, celery, garlic and herbs to the saucepan and saute for about 5-10 minutes. Don’t let it burn.

Then add your butternut cubes (deseeded, Dad!) to the pan and pop the lid on for another ten minutes. Meanwhile, get your stock ready, adding this along with the water to the pan. Let it simmer for between 30-40 minutes (until the veggies are all soft).

img_20170102_105017_7331245

You are supposed to let it cool before popping it in the food processor I imagine. I am unfortunately not at all patient. So the next job is to pop it into your blender or other food processor (I have a beloved Kenwood Chef that is brilliant for this) and blend the heck outa that bad boy until he is as runny or chunky as you would like.

Add to your bowl and serve, or if cooking in bulk like me, add to your tupperware, allow to cool and whack it in your bag/fridge/freezer for later!

Job Done!

