I think in the UK we have mostly grown up in the culture of a meal having meat, veg and carbs like potatoes, rice or pasta.

So when I think of a meal now and have to think of an alternative to these, I tend to break out in a bit of a sweat.

I am quite pleased with what I came up with this evening. Looking in the fridge, I grabbed what I could find: red cabbage, bacon, red pepper and courgette. And a fishcake for the bulk.

I shredded the cabbage, shaved the courgette into ribbons and cut the pepper into strips and cut up the bacon, threw them all into a frying pan and fried them in a little olive oil for about 5 minutes, added a teaspoon of basil pesto and Hey presto!

A filling, healthy, and Carb-free dinner! (well other than the breadcrumbs).

Here is hoping it keeps this ridiculously good control I have somehow managed today going!

Happy Friday x

