Ok so I know that I have been banging on about removing carbs where possible, BUT, as a T1D, we do need to have some carbs from time to time, say if we are having a hypo and need to have something to keep us out of the red.

I am often yoyo-ing between hypo and hyper, as I over treat my hypos and end up in the teens, then overtreat the hyper, and end up at 2.6 and sweating like a weirdo in January.

This is the perfect solution to that problem. By having a small amount of sugar to get me back to the 4’s, and then a slice of this bad boy, I manage to keep myself up without going overboard (obvs I stab (inject) a little for it).

img_20170108_141337_2861259

The bread is made with wholemeal bread and wholemeal spelt flours, and as many nuts and seeds as you can shake a stick at, so it will keep you going for ages and hopefully should avoid a high sugar spike! The nuts and the seeds add protein, particularly the chia seeds, which help with keeping you going for longer.

The recipe is originally from Lorraine Pascal’s ‘Lighter Way to Bake’ – I love this book for less guilt-ridden versions of delicious treats.

Ingredients:

375g wholemeal bread flour

100g wholemeal spelt flour

5 tbsp seeds and nuts (I use anything I have in the  cupboard like cashew nuts, pine nuts, sunflower seeds, walnuts, pumpkin seeds, poppy seeds, hazelnuts, chia seeds, you get the jist)

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp salt

450ml semi-skimmed milk

img_20170108_141423_1541258

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees and line your loaf tin with baking parchment.

Throw your flours, nuts, seeds, bicarb of soda and salt together in a large bowl, make a well in the middle and pour in your milk. Mix everything together until it starts to come together – it will look wetter than normal bread dough.

Spoon the mixture into your lined bread tin, level it off with a spoon and pop it in the oven for 30-40 minutes until it sounds hollow on the bottom when tapped with your finger.

Et Voila!

I let it cool on the rack and then slice it before storing the sliced loaf in the freezer. Soda bread can go stale pretty quickly, so by freezing it and popping the frozen slice in the toaster, it is ready to go whenever you need and won’t be too stale! Yay!

img_20170108_153543_7051257

 

