It is raining and I have had a boring weekend of cleaning the house, walking the dogs in the rain and mud, and subsequently re-creating the house. I’m bored, tired and all I want is a bourbon. Well, let’s face it, I want an entire pack of those family size packets of bourbons. You would be very accurate in saying I am one of those ‘eat your feelings’ kinda girls…

So, in a vain attempt to turn my frown upside down and prevent myself for popping to the shops for some biccies, I have made the ultimate low carb comfort food: cauliflower cheese!!

This bad boy uses spelt flour in the cheese sauce, which yes, is carbs, but it’s used minimally and I used wholemeal spelt, both characteristics of this flour helping it to be broken down more slowly and thus avoiding those dreaded sugar spikes.

I also used a mature cheddar and mozzarella mixture, it is so cheesy and stringy and delicious! 

Ingredients:

1 large cauliflower,  cut into florets

50g butter

50g wholemeal spelt flour

500ml milk

75g cheddar cheese, grated

100g mozzarella, grated

3 rashers of smoked back bacon

Salt and pepper


Method:

The method is adapted from Davina MccCall’s 5 Weeks to Sugar Free.

Preheat the oven to 220’c.

Bring a large saucepan to the boil and add your florets of cauliflower. Cook for a couple of minutes until the cauliflower is softening but still has some bite to it. Drain and run under the cold water tap. Set aside.

For your cheese sauce, melt the butter in a saucepan and add the flour. Mix together with a whisk to remove lumps. Cook for a couple of minutes to cook the flour. Then gradually add your milk to the butter/flour mixture, keep whisking to keep it lump-free.

Pop the heat up a bit, then add your cheese a bit at a time, stirring so that it Melts into the mixture. You also want to season it at this stage.

Cut up your bacon into little pieces and fry lightly in olive or coconut oil until just cooked.

Add the cauliflower to an ovenproof dish, add the bacon and pour the cheese sauce over both. 

Pop in the oven for 10-20 minutes until the too has begun to catch a little.

Enjoy!

I’m going to have some now and then divide it into portions for my lunches this week – I am getting bored of soup!

